wireless network issue

Discussion in 'Wireless' started by rtruesdale, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. rtruesdale

    rtruesdale

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a home network that looking like this:

    Time Warner modem - 8 way data switch - wireless router 1 (Netgear) - computer
    - wireless router 2 (linksys) - computer(s)
    - wireless printer
    - muliple devices (2 computers, Network media, etc)

    "Problem i have" is laptop on router 1 cannot see wireless printer. Obviously wireless printer is visible on router 2.

    I have cleaned up the ip addresses so:
    wireless router 1 - 192.168.1.2 (200 - 250 ip range)
    wireless router 2 - 192.168.1.3 (100-150 ip range)

    time warner modem is 192.168.0.1
    client list of time warner modem (if it helps):
    Host Name IP Address MAC Address Interface
    192.168.0.7 00:06:dc:82:67:56
    Eth-Switch Lan(0)
    192.168.0.3 00:0f:66:e5:27:3c
    Eth-Switch Lan(0)
    unknown 00:22:68:68:e8:6b
    Eth-Switch Lan(0)
    ethan-PC unknown 00:26:18:cf:eb:b1
    Eth-Switch Lan(0)
    Home 192.168.0.5 c0:3f:0e:7f:2b:db
    Eth-Switch Lan
     
    rtruesdale, Oct 12, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rtruesdale

    rtruesdale

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    more clarity

    my original formatting did not come through well.

    also worth noting is that my computer on router 1 cannot see router 2 (cannot ping it) and vise versa.
     
    rtruesdale, Oct 12, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rtruesdale

    rtruesdale

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    this may also help

    see attached
     

    Attached Files:

    rtruesdale, Oct 12, 2012
    #3
  4. rtruesdale

    amerzonn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this,
    Belkin wireless router to receive dynamic IP from the linksys router.
     
    amerzonn, Oct 21, 2012
    #4
  5. rtruesdale

    jhon076

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    you have to enter into the wireless router console. In order to do that you can depending on the model either attach your router with an ethernet cable to one of the laptops or some of these routers accept to do that also over wireless. Then you will have to search where to insert the WPA - PSK (pre-shared key) this would be the password. More protection can be achieved by setting the mac addresses of the devices that can connect, this also can be done only in console mode when you basically get into the home page of your router.
    Normally the homepage of the configuration of the router can be achieved by either typing the name of the router in the browser or the loopback address.

    At best you search in the website of your router the instruction for your model and follow the step by step, depending how is your knowledge in networking it could be complicated to do all I'm telling you manually...

    Good luck
     
    jhon076, Nov 30, 2012
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.