Two Servers, two desktops, two routers, one switch, need to network

Discussion in 'Routers and Switches' started by jmleach16, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. jmleach16

    jmleach16

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    In our networking class, we have the following equipment:

    Dell Server running Server 2008 Enterprise, hosting Active Directory
    Dell Server running Server 2003 Enterprise, part of Active Directory
    Dell Optiplex GX620 Running Windows 7
    Dell Optiplex GX620 Running Windows XP
    Two SonicWall TZ100 routers
    One Cisco switch

    Our goal is to have both servers on one router, and both desktops on the other router to be connected via the switch. We have a third switch so we can simulate having two outgoing connections to the internet when we really only have one.

    We need to be able to connect both servers and both desktops to the internet, as well as share specified files via the network as well. We are able to log in with our domain usernames and passwords on all PCs on the domain, but only the desktops are able to see each other. The servers cannot see each other and the desktops are unable to see the servers, and the servers are unable to see the desktops. The folder we are trying to share is on the server running Server 2003.

    Advice?
     
    jmleach16, Nov 1, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jmleach16

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't you use vlans?
     
    remixedcat, Nov 12, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jmleach16

    aaronjay345

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    same question i have?
     
    aaronjay345, Jan 29, 2013
    #3
  4. jmleach16

    mattjonesits

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess my first question is - what do you mean by "see each other"?
    Can you ping by IP address?
    It sounds like you have some form of IP connectivity.
    Do basic SMB connections (eg \\server1) show any shares when browsed from the desktops?
     
    mattjonesits, May 9, 2013
    #4
  5. jmleach16

    mattjonesits

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also - maybe a bit more information about your network would help.
    IPs of servers and desktops.
     
    mattjonesits, May 9, 2013
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.