audio and video with msn

Discussion in 'Broadband' started by Infant Newbie, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. I cant seem to get audio and video working with msn. i have a static ip with
    efficient networks (not bt) router. Are there any tips and tricks i should
    know?
    thanks
    bart
    http://www.meshcode.net
     
    Infant Newbie, Nov 8, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Infant Newbie

    eusty Guest

    You both need to use MSN 6 then it should work fine :)
     
    eusty, Nov 8, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Infant Newbie

    Slash`n`Burn Guest

    It doesn`t matter whether you have a static IP or not. It`s only a way
    of finding each other after all.
    In order to use webcam on MSN, you have to be connected to your "Buddy",
    Which means you have to have found each other anyway.
     
    Slash`n`Burn, Nov 9, 2003
    #3
  4. Infant Newbie

    Andy Furniss Guest

    AIUI if you are doing NAT it needs to be uPnP to work.

    Andy.
     
    Andy Furniss, Nov 9, 2003
    #4
  5. is there a way of implementing uPnp on a router like EN5861?
     
    Infant Newbie, Nov 12, 2003
    #5
  6. Infant Newbie

    Andy Furniss Guest

    It would need to be a firmware upgrade - I don't know if one is available.

    If you only wanted to use video/audio sometimes you could turn NAT off and
    use one PC with the real address.

    Andy.
     
    Andy Furniss, Nov 12, 2003
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.