Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > ZEN warn of PHISHING mail..

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

ZEN warn of PHISHING mail..

 
 
Spamtastic Spastic
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-17-2009, 07:06 PM
Seen quite a lot relating to other ISP's but have seen some for ZEN -
they are now warning of this:

We are aware of phishing emails targeting customers, purporting to
originate from Zen Internet. These emails have the subject: "your mailbox
has been deactivated" or similar, with a file attached. Virus scanners
should flag this as being infected with a Trojan virus. Zen advises that
you do not respond to the e-mail, action or open the attached utility
file. If you are unsure about the validity of any email coming from Zen
Internet please contact us on 0845 058 9000 and we will be able to
confirm if the mail is valid or not. Start: Tue, 17th Nov 2009 15:48 End:
Tue, 24th Nov 2009 09:00 Update: Tue, 24th Nov 2009 09:00 Edited: Tue,
17th Nov 2009 15:50 Status: Up Maintenance: None

--
political correctness: The safety net protecting deaf blind disabled
ethnic minority gays & lesbians with odd religious beliefs from reality
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Alan
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-17-2009, 10:17 PM
In message <hduvnm$bhu$(E-Mail Removed)>, Spamtastic Spastic
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote
>Seen quite a lot relating to other ISP's but have seen some for ZEN -
>they are now warning of this:
>
>We are aware of phishing emails targeting customers, purporting to
>originate from Zen Internet.


Well if they got their act together and connections to the Zen mail
servers didn't time out so regularly no-one would believe that the
mailbox had been deactivated

--
Alan
news2009 {at} admac {dot} myzen {dot} co {dot} uk
 
Reply With Quote
 
Spamtastic Spastic
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-18-2009, 07:23 AM
On Tue, 17 Nov 2009 23:17:56 +0000, Alan ate alphabet spaghetti and shat
out:

> In message <hduvnm$bhu$(E-Mail Removed)>, Spamtastic Spastic
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote
>>Seen quite a lot relating to other ISP's but have seen some for ZEN -
>>they are now warning of this:
>>
>>We are aware of phishing emails targeting customers, purporting to
>>originate from Zen Internet.

>
> Well if they got their act together and connections to the Zen mail
> servers didn't time out so regularly no-one would believe that the
> mailbox had been deactivated


Never had anything other than a minor blip of an issue with their mail
servers myself. However there are some *other* issues, such as customer
static ranges listed in L2 aspews {requires ISP to take action, could die
waiting} and regular on/off blacklists for their shared hosting servers -
which is hardly surprising given it has some 1200 hosting customers on it
at £5 per month. Spammers will try their luck (only to find it's rate
controlled LOL.....)

But connectivity - nope, that's not been an issue...

--
political correctness: The safety net protecting deaf blind disabled
ethnic minority gays & lesbians with odd religious beliefs from reality
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Mail relay program that TRASHES ALL INCOMING MAIL? [for what purpose?] Andrzej Adam Filip Linux Networking 3 05-08-2010 09:03 PM
NEWS: Researchers warn over web worms John Navas Wireless Internet 1 08-06-2006 05:35 PM
How to config - sending mail to mail.btconnect.com via ADSL Steve Broadband 17 12-03-2005 12:55 PM
Phishing attacks getting worse ! six-toes Broadband 0 02-25-2005 06:41 PM
mail command | view local machine mail with Mozilla @(none) Linux Networking 1 10-17-2004 10:42 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11