Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Internet > WRT54G - Power (transmit) output adjust.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

WRT54G - Power (transmit) output adjust.

 
 
MP
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-17-2004, 08:11 PM
Is there a way to lower the AP's output signal?
I want to limit the wireless range.

I've read that the WRT54G puts out 19mW. I want
to know if 15 or even 10 mW would suffice.

I've also tried to use small home-made
antennas (www.freeantennas.com) but it tends to
do the opposite - increase directional power.

Any ideas?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Barry Jones
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-17-2004, 08:43 PM
On Thu, 17 Jun 2004 20:11:40 GMT, MP wrote:

> Is there a way to lower the AP's output signal?
> I want to limit the wireless range.
>
> I've read that the WRT54G puts out 19mW. I want
> to know if 15 or even 10 mW would suffice.
>
> I've also tried to use small home-made
> antennas (www.freeantennas.com) but it tends to
> do the opposite - increase directional power.
>
> Any ideas?


I'd be curious as to other's reactions to it, but I'd try to put two soup
cans over the antennae, cut enough holes in it to get a connection, then
stop cutting. If heat build up is a problem, cut a hole in the top. You can
use a piece of styrofoam in each can to help keep them positioned well.

There were some hacks to lower the power output of the old Linksys WAP11,
but I prefer to leave the unit intact. If there are network problems down
the road, you don't have to worry about whether your hacks are part of the
cause.

--
Barry
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
AnToNio
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-17-2004, 09:26 PM
MP <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> I've read that the WRT54G puts out 19mW. I want
> to know if 15 or even 10 mW would suffice.


If that were the case you would not be able to get any signal anywhere!
You probably are mixing mw and dbm.

The output is somewhere between 64 and 84 mw.

Why would you want to limit output where everybody is trying yo
iincrease output?

--
Groeten,

Antonio (Voor email, verwijder X)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Jim Sanchez
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-17-2004, 10:37 PM
In article <Xns950BA4BD997B8123abcorg@216.221.81.119>,
(E-Mail Removed) says...
> Is there a way to lower the AP's output signal?
> I want to limit the wireless range.
>
> I've read that the WRT54G puts out 19mW. I want
> to know if 15 or even 10 mW would suffice.
>
> I've also tried to use small home-made
> antennas (www.freeantennas.com) but it tends to
> do the opposite - increase directional power.
>
> Any ideas?
>

The easiest (and best IMHO) is to flash the router with the code from
wifibox.net ( Firmware Version: v2.00.8
Wifi-box.net Release Version: 2.00.8.1i-pre6.wfb 22/01/2004 ) which
allows you to increase and decrease output power. Plus it give you some
very nice other features.
Jim
--
Jim Sanchez - Bellevue WA
JH_Sanchez AT hotmail.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
Jim Osborne
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-17-2004, 11:36 PM
Sveasoft makes firmware which makes the (WRT54G) power output adjustable.

"MP" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:Xns950BA4BD997B8123abcorg@216.221.81.119...
> Is there a way to lower the AP's output signal?
> I want to limit the wireless range.
>
> I've read that the WRT54G puts out 19mW. I want
> to know if 15 or even 10 mW would suffice.
>
> I've also tried to use small home-made
> antennas (www.freeantennas.com) but it tends to
> do the opposite - increase directional power.
>
> Any ideas?



---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.707 / Virus Database: 463 - Release Date: 6/15/2004



 
Reply With Quote
 
Vitali Esau
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-18-2004, 09:30 AM
AnToNio wrote:

> If that were the case you would not be able to get any signal anywhere!
> You probably are mixing mw and dbm.
>
> The output is somewhere between 64 and 84 mw.


This is not right, in my router (WRT54G DE) the default antenna power is
set to 18mW. After a firmware update with
http://www.f4.fhtw-berlin.de/~s05030...8.7sv-pre3.bin
you can increase or decrease the power.

 
Reply With Quote
 
AnToNio
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-18-2004, 12:29 PM
Vitali Esau <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> This is not right, in my router (WRT54G DE) the default antenna power is
> set to 18mW. After a firmware update with


Incorrect!!

Like I said, you are mixing dbm and mw, which are 2 totally different
thing. 100 mw is about same as 20 dbm.

Below, the email I got from Linksys when I needed to know exact numbers:

=======================================
Thank you for contacting Linksys Technical Support.

Model Number RF Output Power (dBm)

1. WRT54G v2 18dBm
2. WRT54G v1.1 15dBm
3. BEFW11S4 v4 15dBm

Should you have further clarification, don't hesitate to email me back.

If you have further questions, please contact us at (800) 326-7114 or
send us an email at (E-Mail Removed) so that we may further assist
you. Please use this phone number given as reference for future support
calls.

Have a pleasant day!


Sincerely,

Aldrin S. Casas
Linksys – A Division of Cisco Systems, Inc.
Product Support Specialist
800-326-7114
(E-Mail Removed)


--
Groeten,

Antonio (Voor email, verwijder X)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Vitali Esau
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-21-2004, 10:55 AM
AnToNio wrote:

> Vitali Esau <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>>This is not right, in my router (WRT54G DE) the default antenna power is
>>set to 18mW. After a firmware update with

>
>
> Incorrect!!
>
> Like I said, you are mixing dbm and mw, which are 2 totally different
> thing. 100 mw is about same as 20 dbm.


Hi,
I didn't formulate correctly. Here a second try:
There are two different output power values we talked about. There is an
internal transmitting power of the router (which I talked about) and a
total transmitting power (which you talked about). The total
transmitting power is calculated like this:
(Linsys approximate values)
internal transmitting power of the router (18,0 mW ~ 12,6 dBm)
-
cable and ports losses ( ~ 4 dBm )
+
antenna gain ( ~ 9 dBm)
__________________________________________________ _____
total transmitting power (63,1 mW ~ 18,0 dBm)

So I talked about the internal transmitting power, wich you can change
after the firmware update.

Best regards
Vitali

 
Reply With Quote
 
Vitali Esau
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-21-2004, 12:21 PM
Vitali Esau wrote:

> So I talked about the internal transmitting power, wich you can change
> after the firmware update.

You can for example look at: http://www.zytrax.com/tech/wireless/calc.htm

>
> Best regards
> Vitali
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Some Guy
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-21-2004, 01:21 PM
Thanks for everyone's help!

I managed to download a firmware patch that allows me to
adjust the power output from the default of 28mW all the
way down to 2mW.

Using my Sony Clié with a built-in 802.11b interface, I
was able to quickly survey the range and got pretty
much the coverage I wanted without sacrificing in speed
over errors.

I'm doing more surveying today to tweek the AP.

Cheers everyone!


Vitali Esau <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
news:cb6erk$skn$(E-Mail Removed)-ag.de:

> AnToNio wrote:
>
>> Vitali Esau <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>>
>>>This is not right, in my router (WRT54G DE) the default antenna power
>>>is set to 18mW. After a firmware update with

>>
>>
>> Incorrect!!
>>
>> Like I said, you are mixing dbm and mw, which are 2 totally different
>> thing. 100 mw is about same as 20 dbm.

>
> Hi,
> I didn't formulate correctly. Here a second try:
> There are two different output power values we talked about. There is
> an internal transmitting power of the router (which I talked about)
> and a total transmitting power (which you talked about). The total
> transmitting power is calculated like this:
> (Linsys approximate values)
> internal transmitting power of the router (18,0 mW ~ 12,6 dBm)
> -
> cable and ports losses ( ~ 4 dBm )
> +
> antenna gain ( ~ 9 dBm)
> __________________________________________________ _____
> total transmitting power (63,1 mW ~ 18,0 dBm)
>
> So I talked about the internal transmitting power, wich you can change
> after the firmware update.
>
> Best regards
> Vitali
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power output of the mn-700 base station ? CatBird Broadband Hardware 0 11-16-2004 03:28 AM
Power Output Rating of MN-700 CMc Broadband Hardware 1 09-02-2004 05:23 PM
Vigor 2600W - Output Power Jim Home Networking 0 04-17-2004 03:24 PM
Radio output power.. Tor Tveitane Wireless Internet 5 11-09-2003 02:57 PM
Increase Power output on a Vigour 2600W AP Paul Landregan Wireless Internet 4 09-29-2003 10:04 AM