Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > Wanadoo and SORBS

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Wanadoo and SORBS

 
 
John Buckley
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-23-2005, 11:02 PM
Anyone having problems sending mail from Wanadoo accounts?
Mine has been very eratic over the past day or so, mail is either
bounced or goes into black hole. Two of the three wanadoo uk mail
servers are listed at SORBS, could this be the reason?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Database of servers sending to spamtrap addresses
Address: 193.252.22.157
Record Created: Wed Dec 21 11:58:18 2005 GMT
Record Updated: Wed Dec 21 11:58:18 2005 GMT
Additional Information: Received: from smtp2.freeserve.com
(smtp2.wanadoo.co.uk [193.252.22.157]) by desperado.sorbs.net
(Postfix) with ESMTP id 528AF1149A for [email]; Wed, 21 Dec 2005
21:58:09 +1000 (EST)
Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS
If you wish to request a delisting please do so through the Support
System.


Database of servers sending to spamtrap addresses
Address: 193.252.22.158
Record Created: Tue Sep 30 06:04:59 2003 GMT
Record Updated: Thu Dec 15 14:30:17 2005 GMT
Additional Information: Received: from smtp1.freeserve.com
(smtp1.wanadoo.co.uk [193.252.22.158]) by mail.it.helsinki.fi
(8.13.3/8.13.3) with ESMTP id jBECCBYY011300 for [email]; Wed, 14 Dec
2005 14:12:15 +0200
Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS
If you wish to request a delisting please do so through the Support
System.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
RSXTC
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-24-2005, 05:20 AM

John Buckley wrote:
> Anyone having problems sending mail from Wanadoo accounts?
> Mine has been very eratic over the past day or so, mail is either
> bounced or goes into black hole. Two of the three wanadoo uk mail
> servers are listed at SORBS, could this be the reason?
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Part of the reason. You do realize that Wanafoo has, on many occasions,
refused to do anything about their users who have hacked pcs (zombied)
used by many a spamer to spread more virus and spam to the internet
public? The two listed ip's are known "sources" of 419 Nigerian Scam
emails.

http://moensted.dk/spam/?addr=193.25...&Submit=Submit
http://moensted.dk/spam/?addr=193.25...&Submit=Submit

Tell Wanadoo take care of their problems.

 
Reply With Quote
 
John Buckley
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-27-2005, 12:24 AM

>
>Tell Wanadoo take care of their problems.


Here is their response,

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for your email.

It appears that your email has been blocked by an anti-spam blacklist.

Wanadoo is in contact with several well-recognised blacklisting
organisations, such as www.spamcop.net and www.spamhaus.org, helping
us
to make sure that their subscribers do not block our mail servers.
Unfortunately there is nothing we can do if an organisation chooses to
subscribe to this blacklist.

We are continually striving to improve this situation wherever
possible
and apologise for any inconvenience.

If you have any further queries then please do not hesitate to get in
contact with us again.

Kind Regards
Wanadoo Technical Support
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



 
Reply With Quote
 
RSXTC
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-27-2005, 12:29 AM


> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Thank you for your email.
>
> It appears that your email has been blocked by an anti-spam blacklist.
>
> Wanadoo is in contact with several well-recognised blacklisting
> organisations, such as www.spamcop.net and www.spamhaus.org, helping
> us
> to make sure that their subscribers do not block our mail servers.
> Unfortunately there is nothing we can do if an organisation chooses to
> subscribe to this blacklist.
>
> We are continually striving to improve this situation wherever
> possible
> and apologise for any inconvenience.
>
> If you have any further queries then please do not hesitate to get in
> contact with us again.
>
> Kind Regards
> Wanadoo Technical Support
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


you can simply state:

so why did you get on the list in THE FIRST place?

switch to a more reputable provider
or
have the person you are sending email to to whitelist your address.

 
Reply With Quote
 
picker pecker
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-27-2005, 12:53 AM
"RSXTC" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> you can simply state:
>
> so why did you get on the list in THE FIRST place?


That's not a choice. Sorbs lists thousands of non-spamming IP addresses.
They then ask the ISP (sort of blackmailing) to cough up X amount of dollars
per each listed IP, to be sent to a so-called charity. Otherwise the IPs
stay listed.

Wanadoo has obviously declined to accept the blackmail.

> switch to a more reputable provider


You are clearly a sorbs/spews fan!

 
Reply With Quote
 
MinusNet
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-27-2005, 01:40 AM
picker pecker wrote

> "RSXTC" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
> > you can simply state:
> >
> > so why did you get on the list in THE FIRST place?

>
> That's not a choice. Sorbs lists thousands of non-spamming IP addresses.
> They then ask the ISP (sort of blackmailing) to cough up X amount of dollars
> per each listed IP, to be sent to a so-called charity. Otherwise the IPs
> stay listed.
>
> Wanadoo has obviously declined to accept the blackmail.



$50 a throw - thieving bastards.
http://www.nl.sorbs.net/faq/spamdb.shtml


> > switch to a more reputable provider

>
> You are clearly a sorbs/spews fan!
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plusnet Mail Relays blocked by SORBS Al Bowlly Broadband 1 12-15-2009 11:13 AM
[Fwd: Dnsstuff.com warns: DO NOT USE The SORBS or SPEWS email blacklist] !:?) Broadband 0 11-30-2005 01:05 AM
Can I use Wanadoo BB and a Belkin Wireless G Router without Wanadoo modem? clara.co.uk Home Networking 0 11-19-2005 11:36 AM
Miserable experience with Wanadoo. Wanadoo Broadband review UK. thecq Broadband 2 10-05-2004 01:57 PM
Mac OS X 10.3 and Wanadoo Gary de Roeck Broadband Hardware 1 08-03-2004 04:51 PM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11