On 4-Aug-2006, Eeyore <(E-Mail Removed) > wrote:
> > I have a few sites that are completely inacessible to me through my isp yet
> > are for other users.
For these sort of queries you do a who is, in this case on
www.ripe.net and get (the correct "who is" to use may need
a bit of detective work). Start with who is as search
terms on Google.
You get
Information related to '217.158.0.0 - 217.158.255.255'
inetnum: 217.158.0.0 - 217.158.255.255
org: ORG-CA48-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=ORG-CA48-RIPE&form_type=simple>
netname: UK-CLARANET-20020228
descr: PROVIDER
country: GB
admin-c: NL23-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=NL23-RIPE&form_type=simple>
tech-c: CH309-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=CH309-RIPE&form_type=simple>
tech-c: SR1060-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=SR1060-RIPE&form_type=simple>
status: ALLOCATED PA <http://www.ripe.net/ripe/docs/ipv4-policies.html>
<http://www.ripe.net/ripe/docs/ipv4-policies.html>
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT&form_type=simple>
mnt-lower: AS8426-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=AS8426-MNT&form_type=simple>
source: RIPE # Filtered
organisation: ORG-CA48-RIPE
org-name: ClaraNET (UK)
org-type: LIR
address: 21 Southampton Row, Holborn
address: WC1B 5HA
address: London
address: United Kingdom
phone: +44 (0) 207 685 8000
fax-no: +44 (0) 207 685 8001
admin-c: CH309-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=CH309-RIPE&form_type=simple>
admin-c: CNET5-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=CNET5-RIPE&form_type=simple>
admin-c: CNET6-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=CNET6-RIPE&form_type=simple>
mnt-ref: AS8426-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=AS8426-MNT&form_type=simple>
mnt-ref: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT&form_type=simple>
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT&form_type=simple>
source: RIPE # Filtered
role: Claranet Hostmaster
address: Claranet Ltd
address: 21 Southampton Row
address: London WC1B 5HA
address: United Kingdom
phone: +44 (0) 20 7685 8000
fax-no: +44 (0) 20 7685 8001
remarks: trouble: ---------------------------------------------------
remarks: trouble: Please do NOT send abuse complaints to the contacts
remarks: trouble: listed here. Please email them to
(E-Mail Removed)
remarks: trouble: or use
http://www.abuse.net/lookup.phtml
remarks: trouble: ---------------------------------------------------
admin-c: NSUK2-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=NSUK2-RIPE&form_type=simple>
tech-c: NSUK1-RIPE
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=NSUK1-RIPE&form_type=simple>
nic-hdl: CH309-RIPE
mnt-by: AS8426-MNT
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=AS8426-MNT&form_type=simple>
source: RIPE # Filtered
abuse-mailbox:
(E-Mail Removed)
<http://www.ripe.net/whois?searchtext=(E-Mail Removed)&form_type=simple>
The important bit is
org-name: ClaraNET (UK)
And next item is their address, so that is who you complain to, it's their crap
servers, or they have set them up wrong.
If really pissed off, next line gives their London landline, not national rate, phone
number.
They will probably blame LINX, they may be right, or it could be just a lame excuse.