Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > Tiscali listed as a spam source?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Tiscali listed as a spam source?

 
 
David G. Bell
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-11-2005, 08:22 AM
It may simply be somebody using a defunct list, but I've had mail sent
through the Tiscali mail servers bounced as being from a spam source.

Seems to be the SPEWS list, but all I've found so far suggests that,
while the spews.org site is running, there is no current maintenance.

There was some "discussion" of Tiscali and SPEWS up until about six
months ago. As here, some of the "discussion" was pretty heated, and
some of it looked to be rather like spam.




--
David G. Bell -- SF Fan, Filker, and Punslinger.

"I am Number Two," said Penfold. "You are Number Six."
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Adam Piggott
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-11-2005, 02:11 PM
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

David G. Bell wrote:
> It may simply be somebody using a defunct list, but I've had mail sent
> through the Tiscali mail servers bounced as being from a spam source.
>
> Seems to be the SPEWS list, but all I've found so far suggests that,
> while the spews.org site is running, there is no current maintenance.
>
> There was some "discussion" of Tiscali and SPEWS up until about six
> months ago. As here, some of the "discussion" was pretty heated, and
> some of it looked to be rather like spam.


- From what I understand, at least a while ago, Tiscali's attempts to stop
their users spamming were pathetic (or non-existent), hence they were quite
correctly added to block lists.

I couldn't say if this would be correct for the present day, one would have
to investigate. I tend to use http://rbls.org for checking RBL listing.

Most of the addresses from 212.74.114.37-48 (at least some of Tiscali's
SMTP servers) are listed by the above site as being present.

Regards
- --
Adam Piggott, Proprietor, Proactive Services (Computing).
http://www.proactiveservices.co.uk/

Please replace dot invalid with dot uk to email me.
Apply personally for PGP public key.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.0 (MingW32)

iD8DBQFC0n337uRVdtPsXDkRAhG4AJ4+TpTOWAaJ6Zdr3JHMG/wvwmDA7ACghVTw
SlOFMugUFZ5fMvT3acxlpFo=
=4W1B
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
 
Reply With Quote
 
David G. Bell
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-11-2005, 02:50 PM
On Monday, in article
<42d27dd5$0$38046$(E-Mail Removed)>
(E-Mail Removed)lid "Adam Piggott" wrote:

> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
>
> David G. Bell wrote:
> > It may simply be somebody using a defunct list, but I've had mail sent
> > through the Tiscali mail servers bounced as being from a spam source.
> >
> > Seems to be the SPEWS list, but all I've found so far suggests that,
> > while the spews.org site is running, there is no current maintenance.
> >
> > There was some "discussion" of Tiscali and SPEWS up until about six
> > months ago. As here, some of the "discussion" was pretty heated, and
> > some of it looked to be rather like spam.

>
> - From what I understand, at least a while ago, Tiscali's attempts to stop
> their users spamming were pathetic (or non-existent), hence they were quite
> correctly added to block lists.


That is what I was able to discover through Google.

>
> I couldn't say if this would be correct for the present day, one would have
> to investigate. I tend to use http://rbls.org for checking RBL listing.
>
> Most of the addresses from 212.74.114.37-48 (at least some of Tiscali's
> SMTP servers) are listed by the above site as being present.


Thanks for taking the trouble to dig that out.

Luckily, I'm mostly working through Gmail at the moment. Maybe if I can
break one or two of my dial-up habits I won't notice. It does rather
_look_ as if they're wide open; it isn't obvious if they're doing a
security check on the IP address, but they're not quibbling about the
domain names attached to emails.


--
David G. Bell -- SF Fan, Filker, and Punslinger.

"I am Number Two," said Penfold. "You are Number Six."
 
Reply With Quote
 
poster
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-11-2005, 04:58 PM
On 11 Jul 2005 15:50, (E-Mail Removed) ("David G. Bell") wrote:

>but they're not quibbling about the domain names attached to emails.


What would you expect them to check ? I have quite a number of different
domains registered, in various TLDs and none are hosted by any ISP I use
for connection to the internet, but that should not stop me sending my
outgoing mail with a domain I have legitimate use of (there are also a
number of other domains where I have a valid mail address)... Peter M.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiscali spam email problems Tony Broadband 7 03-23-2006 08:19 PM
WPA-PSK not listed in Windows tony_72000 Wireless Networks 2 07-25-2005 07:07 PM
[spam] 2.4GHz 18dBi sector for sale [/spam] Marcin £ukasik Wireless Internet 0 02-28-2004 11:44 AM
Computer listed twice Capt. Len Windows Networking 0 08-17-2003 06:06 PM
Comp. listed twice Capt. Len Windows Networking 2 08-17-2003 01:15 PM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11