|
||||||||
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|
Hi,
I've been having some problems with sending emails and things look a bit suspicious. I have braodband access from BT Openworld if that is relevent and am using MS Outlook for email. If I send an email to my work account then there is no problem but if I send an email to an address on my personal domain name then I get the following error from Outlook. The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was rejected by the server. Server Response '550 Recipient not authorised [recipient rejected due to no authorised destination groups]' (Account: 'pop3.btclick.com', SMTP Server: 'smtp.btclick.com', Error number 0x800ccc79) The not authorised bit looks a bit dodgy, is there some way that BT are rejecting my domain name because they think it is spam? This problem has been happening for some time but I have just started getting some 'returned mail: user unknown' messages from aol with a to address that is my domain but had a made up string before the @. Could someone have hijacked my domain name for spam? Thanks Andy Andy Coleman |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
(E-Mail Removed) (Andy Coleman) wrote in
news:(E-Mail Removed) m: > The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was > rejected by the server. Server Response '550 Recipient not authorised > [recipient rejected due to no authorised destination groups]' > (Account: 'pop3.btclick.com', SMTP Server: 'smtp.btclick.com', Error > number 0x800ccc79) Why don't you use mail.btopenworld.com as your smtp server if you're with BT Openworld? -- My photos: http://homepages.zen.co.uk/~philip.chung To send me an e-mail, remove TEETH |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Andy Coleman" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) m... > Hi, > > I've been having some problems with sending emails and things look a > bit suspicious. > > I have braodband access from BT Openworld if that is relevent and am > using MS Outlook for email. > > If I send an email to my work account then there is no problem but if > I send an email to an address on my personal domain name then I get > the following error from Outlook. > > The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was > rejected by the server. Server Response '550 Recipient not authorised > [recipient rejected due to no authorised destination groups]' > (Account: 'pop3.btclick.com', SMTP Server: 'smtp.btclick.com', Error > number 0x800ccc79) > > The not authorised bit looks a bit dodgy, is there some way that BT > are rejecting my domain name because they think it is spam? > > This problem has been happening for some time but I have just started > getting some 'returned mail: user unknown' messages from aol with a to > address that is my domain but had a made up string before the @. Could > someone have hijacked my domain name for spam? > > This is a new trick up BT sleeves. They block outgoing emails where the 'from' field is a non-bt address. Therefore if you have a private domain then you need to register it with BT. You can register up to 5 domains. You would have received an email about it from BT into you main BT email account sometimes during the last 6 months with a link to the registration page. |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Tue, 13 Jan 2004 13:31:45 -0000, "Alien Zord"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote: >"Andy Coleman" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message >news:(E-Mail Removed) om... >> Hi, >> >> I've been having some problems with sending emails [snip] >This is a new trick up BT sleeves. They block outgoing emails where the >'from' field is a non-bt address. Therefore if you have a private domain >then you need to register it with BT. You can register up to 5 domains. You >would have received an email about it from BT into you main BT email account >sometimes during the last 6 months with a link to the registration page. > > This might be a kind of anti spam measure but really affects quite a number of end users who have private domains. Ignoring the likes of AOL surely you 'sign up' with a Broadband provider to have a "clean outgoing connection" to carry out legitimate business? Certainly while I was with BTOpenworld, ceasing my contract last month, I had not received any emails on this subject. On a general note, as much as might like Tesco's bake beans or my satisfaction of flying with Virgin, I have no wish to advertise those companies on the side of my vehicles as part of my email address. So I have private Domains for my various businesses; nine in total. It looks to me that this restriction may well be tested in the courts if it were to spread to other Broadband suppliers. Meanwhile it reinforces the belief of many that using BT for you Internet requirements is not something in your best interests. Can anyone find details of this 'blocking proceedure' on their website? David Bradley |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Phil Chung <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<Xns946F6CFEC7EB1pylchungnet@195.8.68.206>...
> > Why don't you use mail.btopenworld.com as your smtp server if you're with > BT Openworld? I've always used smtp.btclick.com as the smtp server and it seems to work for mail that is not heading for my domain. Thanks Andy |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
"David Bradley" <(E-Mail Removed)7> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)... > It looks to me that this restriction may well be tested in the courts > if it were to spread to other Broadband suppliers. Meanwhile it > reinforces the belief of many that using BT for you Internet > requirements is not something in your best interests. > > Can anyone find details of this 'blocking proceedure' on their > website? > > Here it is: http://btopenworld.custhelp.com/cgi-...Z2U9MQ**&p_li= |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Alien Zord" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<bu0s04$c0bov$(E-Mail Removed)>...
> This is a new trick up BT sleeves. They block outgoing emails where the > 'from' field is a non-bt address. Therefore if you have a private domain > then you need to register it with BT. You can register up to 5 domains. You > would have received an email about it from BT into you main BT email account > sometimes during the last 6 months with a link to the registration page. Thanks for that. I had a rather odd conversation with someone at BT support desk yesterday and after going through a few bits and pieces we came to the conclusion that the root of the problem was as you say I need to register my domain. She talked me through setting up another account in Outlook (which I did know how to do but played along with her script) and that account failed to work at all. Then while she went off to do some research I played around with the settings on the original account and found that if I changed my from email address to the bt one I could send emails out. I probably do still have that email from bt but I rarely use that account as most of my emails come via my work account. Thanks Andy |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
David Bradley <(E-Mail Removed)7> wrote in message news:<(E-Mail Removed)>. ..
<snip> > > It looks to me that this restriction may well be tested in the courts > if it were to spread to other Broadband suppliers. Meanwhile it > reinforces the belief of many that using BT for you Internet > requirements is not something in your best interests. > > > David Bradley Unfortunately I am stuck with BT as my emplyere pays for the ADSL line and BT are the compamy standard. But I think the company that hosts my personal domain provide smtp access to my email so I may be able to just bypass BT for my email purposes. Thanks Andy |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Alien Zord" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<bu1ifb$cjd81$(E-Mail Removed)>...
<snip> > Here it is: > http://btopenworld.custhelp.com/cgi-...Z2U9MQ**&p_li= Thanks for the link, although when I try and access the site this page directs you to it gives me a 'Internal system error - please try again later' Oh well. Andy |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Andy Coleman" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) om... > "Alien Zord" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<bu1ifb$cjd81$(E-Mail Removed)>... > <snip> > > Here it is: > > http://btopenworld.custhelp.com/cgi-...Z2U9MQ**&p_li= > > Thanks for the link, although when I try and access the site this page > directs you to it gives me a 'Internal system error - please try again > later' > > Oh well. > > You mean http://www.btconnect.com/maildomain ? Yep, its dead right now. |
![]() |
| Tags |
| account, emails, problems, sending |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|