Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Linux Networking > strange DNS lookup

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

strange DNS lookup

 
 
Jacob Kristensen
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-01-2006, 08:34 PM

Could somebody help me explain this:
$ dig @194.239.10.41 www.8ingatlan.hu

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> @194.239.10.41 www.8ingatlan.hu
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 29943
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.8ingatlan.hu. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.8ingatlan.hu. 41085 IN A 192.168.0.1

;; Query time: 172 msec
;; SERVER: 194.239.10.41#53(194.239.10.41)
;; WHEN: Wed Feb 1 22:25:57 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 50


The 194.239.10.41 is the IP of my ISP's DNS server. I wonder why that name
resolves to 192.168.0.1, shouldn't that be a RFC1918 reserved adress by
IANA? A friend of mine with a different ISP gets the same result using the
DNS server of his ISP.

kind regards
Jacob Kristensen
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Nicholas DePetrillo
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-01-2006, 08:52 PM
On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 22:34:41 +0100, Jacob Kristensen wrote:

>
> Could somebody help me explain this:
> $ dig @194.239.10.41 www.8ingatlan.hu
>
> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> @194.239.10.41 www.8ingatlan.hu
> ; (1 server found)
> ;; global options: printcmd
> ;; Got answer:
> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 29943
> ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
>
> ;; QUESTION SECTION:
> ;www.8ingatlan.hu. IN A
>
> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
> www.8ingatlan.hu. 41085 IN A 192.168.0.1
>
> ;; Query time: 172 msec
> ;; SERVER: 194.239.10.41#53(194.239.10.41)
> ;; WHEN: Wed Feb 1 22:25:57 2006
> ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 50
>
>
> The 194.239.10.41 is the IP of my ISP's DNS server. I wonder why that name
> resolves to 192.168.0.1, shouldn't that be a RFC1918 reserved adress by
> IANA? A friend of mine with a different ISP gets the same result using the
> DNS server of his ISP.
>
> kind regards
> Jacob Kristensen


Your correct in that 192.168 is an RFC1918 reserved address but it does
not stop anyone from simply just making www.8ingatlan.hu resolve to
anything they want.

For example:

badrfc IN A 192.168.1.45

Throw that in a domain zone file in BIND and you've got it.

Now why they would do this is anyones guess. Could be malicious tricks?
What exactly is www.8ingatlan.hu?

--
Nick DePetrillo
Network Security Engineer
OSHEAN
PGP Key: http://pgp.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?...rch=0x121245B5

 
Reply With Quote
 
Jacob Kristensen
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-01-2006, 09:23 PM
On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 16:52:19 -0500, Nicholas DePetrillo wrote:

> On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 22:34:41 +0100, Jacob Kristensen wrote:
>
>>
>> Could somebody help me explain this:
>>...
>> kind regards
>> Jacob Kristensen

>
> Your correct in that 192.168 is an RFC1918 reserved address but it does
> not stop anyone from simply just making www.8ingatlan.hu resolve to
> anything they want.
>
> For example:
>
> badrfc IN A 192.168.1.45
>
> Throw that in a domain zone file in BIND and you've got it.
>
> Now why they would do this is anyones guess. Could be malicious tricks?
> What exactly is www.8ingatlan.hu?

The trojan Bagle attempts to contact a number of hosts to download
something, one of them is www.8ingatlan.hu:
http://www.nod32.com/msgs/bagledd.htm
I manage a small network in a dormitory. I noticed the name in ntop,
thought it looked strange, googled it, found out it had something to do
with a trojan, decided to do a dig on it and was a bit surprised. But if
it is nothing dangerous I will just relax; perhaps tell people to update
their antivirus.

Thanks for the input
Jacob Kristensen
 
Reply With Quote
 
Nicholas DePetrillo
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-01-2006, 09:34 PM
On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 23:23:35 +0100, Jacob Kristensen wrote:

> On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 16:52:19 -0500, Nicholas DePetrillo wrote:
>
>> On Wed, 01 Feb 2006 22:34:41 +0100, Jacob Kristensen wrote:
>>
>>>
>>> Could somebody help me explain this:
>>>...
>>> kind regards
>>> Jacob Kristensen

>>
>> Your correct in that 192.168 is an RFC1918 reserved address but it does
>> not stop anyone from simply just making www.8ingatlan.hu resolve to
>> anything they want.
>>
>> For example:
>>
>> badrfc IN A 192.168.1.45
>>
>> Throw that in a domain zone file in BIND and you've got it.
>>
>> Now why they would do this is anyones guess. Could be malicious tricks?
>> What exactly is www.8ingatlan.hu?

> The trojan Bagle attempts to contact a number of hosts to download
> something, one of them is www.8ingatlan.hu:
> http://www.nod32.com/msgs/bagledd.htm
> I manage a small network in a dormitory. I noticed the name in ntop,
> thought it looked strange, googled it, found out it had something to do
> with a trojan, decided to do a dig on it and was a bit surprised. But if
> it is nothing dangerous I will just relax; perhaps tell people to update
> their antivirus.
>
> Thanks for the input
> Jacob Kristensen


I see now, I should have checked Google myself for that information. It
says:

"Bagle.DD creates its own timed threads for interval downloading.
It will try to download files from the following internet locations every
4 hours."

So they probably changed that domain name to resolve to an
invalid IP as to stop the spread of whatever Bagle was downloading. That
sounds like a plausible answer. They chose an RFC1918 address so it would
never have to go outside a network and waste resources. It would usually
depending on the network stay internal, like behind a cable modem
subscribers Linksys router.

--
Nick DePetrillo
Network Security Engineer
OSHEAN
PGP Key: http://pgp.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?...rch=0x121245B5

 
Reply With Quote
 
Moe Trin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-02-2006, 11:19 PM
On Wed, 01 Feb 2006, in the Usenet newsgroup comp.os.linux.networking, in
article <(E-Mail Removed) x>,
Jacob Kristensen wrote:

>Could somebody help me explain this:
>$ dig @194.239.10.41 www.8ingatlan.hu


>www.8ingatlan.hu. 41085 IN A 192.168.0.1


Apparently, the person who owns that domain is tired of worms banging
on the site, and set the name server to return that answer. Do a whois
lookup of the domain at RIPE, and it refers you to

domain_pri_ns: ns4.rooter.hu[195.228.155.39]

and that name server is providing the RFC1918 answer with a TTL of 12 hours.

;; got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 6
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
;; QUERY SECTION:
;; www.8ingatlan.hu, type = A, class = IN

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.8ingatlan.hu. 12H IN A 192.168.0.1

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
8ingatlan.hu. 12H IN NS ns4.rooter.hu.
8ingatlan.hu. 12H IN NS ns1.rooter.hu.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.rooter.hu. 1H IN A 195.228.254.116
ns4.rooter.hu. 1H IN A 195.228.155.39

>A friend of mine with a different ISP gets the same result using the
>DNS server of his ISP.


because the authoratative server for the domain is providing that as
the answer.

Old guy
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zen reverse lookup Richard Tobin Broadband 16 12-07-2006 10:55 PM
DNS lookup issue Maurice Bishop Windows Networking 3 08-08-2005 02:56 PM
Slow DNS lookup gk Linux Networking 11 07-29-2003 08:41 AM
NIS cannot lookup username Andy Linux Networking 0 07-23-2003 03:39 AM
NIS cannot lookup username Andy Linux Networking 0 07-19-2003 04:15 PM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11