Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > Spam purporting to be from sales@zen.co.uk

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Spam purporting to be from sales@zen.co.uk

 
 
Zen Support
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 11:35 AM

Zen Internet have received a number of complaints in regards to unsolicited
e-mails which are masquerading as adverts for our services.

The e-mails appear as below:

"COME TO ZEN FOR FREE 0870 6000 971

HTTP://ZEN.CO.UK

WE BEET THEM ALL"

Followed by a string of letters. The address the e-mail is sent from appears
as: (E-Mail Removed)

Invariably these e-mails are originating from the following server:

SERVER2000SLOTS (dsl-80-46-156-1.access.uk.tiscali.com [80.46.156.1])

Anybody receiving these e-mails are advised to contact Tiscali on:

(E-Mail Removed)

Zen Internet Ltd does not advertise our service through unsolicited e-mail.

--
Phil D.Long
Technical Support Consultant
Zen Internet Ltd
E: (E-Mail Removed)
T: 0870 6000 973
F: 0870 6000 972
W. http://www.zen.co.uk



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Jason Clifford
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 11:41 AM
On Thu, 24 Jul 2003, Zen Support wrote:

> Followed by a string of letters. The address the e-mail is sent from appears
> as: (E-Mail Removed)
>
> Invariably these e-mails are originating from the following server:
>
> SERVER2000SLOTS (dsl-80-46-156-1.access.uk.tiscali.com [80.46.156.1])


If you want Tiscali to actually take note of your complaints and act upon
them point out that sending such messages is a criminal offence in
contravention of the Companies Act - the offence is "passing off".

Tiscali only seem to act where it is clear a criminal offence has been
comitted.

Jason Clifford
--
UKPOST.COM get your @ukpost.com address now...
http://www.ukpost.com/ professional hosting and colocation

 
Reply With Quote
 
Anthony Edwards
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 11:59 AM
On Thu, 24 Jul 2003 12:41:09 +0100, Jason Clifford <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> On Thu, 24 Jul 2003, Zen Support wrote:
>
>> Followed by a string of letters. The address the e-mail is sent from appears
>> as: (E-Mail Removed)
>>
>> Invariably these e-mails are originating from the following server:
>>
>> SERVER2000SLOTS (dsl-80-46-156-1.access.uk.tiscali.com [80.46.156.1])

>
> If you want Tiscali to actually take note of your complaints and act upon
> them point out that sending such messages is a criminal offence in
> contravention of the Companies Act - the offence is "passing off".


Actually, since 0870 6000 971 actually is Zen Internet's sales contact
number, no such passing off is taking place. In fact, the sender of the
email concerned is purely advertising the Zen Internet service, albeit
without Zen Internet's knowledge, authorisation or permission.

> Tiscali only seem to act where it is clear a criminal offence has been
> comitted.


Given that the intention of the email advertisements is apparently
to discredit Zen Internet and to damage their online and business
standing and reputation, I would recommend that Zen Internet (ideally
their in house legal counsel, or their solicitors) put Tiscali UK
"on notice" in respect of these activities with regard to defamation.

That may obtain the desired result. In the meantime, I have a contact
at Tiscali and will forward this and Zen Internet's posting on to my
contact there.

--
Anthony Edwards
easynet Ltd - Manchester
http://www.uk.easynet.net
(E-Mail Removed)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Squet34785
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 02:04 PM
Disgruntled ex-Zen customer attempting to get you in SPEWS?

"Zen Support" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:3f1fc48a$0$246$(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> Zen Internet have received a number of complaints in regards to

unsolicited
> e-mails which are masquerading as adverts for our services.



 
Reply With Quote
 
Andrew Coates
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 04:54 PM
In article <bfop1u$60b$(E-Mail Removed)>, Squet34785 <(E-Mail Removed)>
writes
>
>"Zen Support" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>news:3f1fc48a$0$246$(E-Mail Removed). ..
>>
>> Zen Internet have received a number of complaints in regards to
>>unsolicited e-mails which are masquerading as adverts for our services.


>Disgruntled ex-Zen customer attempting to get you in SPEWS?


Ron?

nah, he wouldn't know how

--
Andrew Coates
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2003, 05:20 PM
Jason Clifford wrote...

>Tiscali only seem to act where it is clear a criminal offence has been
>comitted.


Reeeeheeeeeeheeeeeaaly!.. Is this also true of their usenet
service?
--
Mike
 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter Corlett
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-25-2003, 09:06 AM
Squet34785 <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> "Zen Support" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Zen Internet have received a number of complaints in regards to
>> unsolicited e-mails which are masquerading as adverts for our services.

> Disgruntled ex-Zen customer attempting to get you in SPEWS?


Firstly, please learn to quote properly! In English, we read from top to
bottom, so don't write from bottom to top.

Secondly, SPEWS is more likely to just blacklist Tiscali's servers, assuming
of couse that they're not already in there.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biqua Sales Knight Wireless Internet 6 08-18-2008 08:56 PM
What is Anti-Spam Filter.(thunderbird spam filter) zak07000 Broadband 0 03-27-2008 03:41 PM
Sales Advisors opps Home Networking 0 02-13-2008 10:46 AM
Sales Demonstrators opps Home Networking 1 02-09-2007 05:22 PM
[spam] 2.4GHz 18dBi sector for sale [/spam] Marcin £ukasik Wireless Internet 0 02-28-2004 11:44 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11