In an earlier contribution to this discussion,
Terry Pinnell <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Would someone mind checking this out please? From a video forum
> thread, I clicked the following link from a contributor to download a
> 3.5 MB ZIP file:
> http://www.badongo.com/file/8710108
>
> That took me to the page
> http://www.badongo.com/fd/0367800704...936a9170/0/ifr
> which informed me:
>
> "You have exceeded your Download Quota!
> Non-Members are allowed to download a maximum of 100 MB ...
>
> YOU ARE CURRENTLY CONNECTED TO OUR SYSTEM WITH THE FOLLOWING IP
> ADDRESS: 194.72.9.25
> THIS ADDRESS HAS DOWNLOADED A TOTAL OF 468MB IN THE LAST HOUR
> ALREADY."
>
> Not really! I've never visited the site before 10 mins ago, trying
> (unsuccessfully) to download this file.
>
> Presumably just a plain scam? (It goes on to invite membership.)
Have you got a fixed IP address, or a dynamic one which changes when you
disconnect your internet connection and then re-connect?
If the latter, you may have inherited an IP address from someone who had
just been using that site very heavily. Bit of a co-incidence though!
Or, have you got an unsecured wireless network which would allow someone to
sit outside your house with a laptop, and hack into your internet
connection?
--
Cheers,
Roger
______
Email address maintained for newsgroup use only, and not regularly
monitored.. Messages sent to it may not be read for several weeks.
PLEASE REPLY TO NEWSGROUP!