Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > OT - Nominet

Reply
 
 
JIP
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 06:58 PM
Sorry, don't know where else to post.

Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
..co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk

I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
to verify my details.

Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?

Cheers


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Isitsafe
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:12 PM
This is normal - you check that all your details are correct. You can print
out a registration certificate showing your registered name(s) details.

"JIP" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:43b6e391$0$1477$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
>
> Cheers
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Vhit
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:19 PM
<uk.telecom.broadband , JIP , (E-Mail Removed)>
<43b6e391$0$1477$(E-Mail Removed)>
<Sat, 31 Dec 2005 19:58:52 -0000>

> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
>


Its genuine - but you can ignore it .

I dont even open the letters nominet send me most of the time .


--
www.vhit.co.uk
www.vhit.co.uk/?poll=1000017
 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:30 PM
In message <43b6e391$0$1477$(E-Mail Removed)>, JIP wrote:

> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
>

It's probably genuine. They ought to have all the information anyway, they
just like to make sure it's up to date.
--
Dave
mail da (E-Mail Removed) (without the space)
http://www.llondel.org
So many gadgets, so little time
 
Reply With Quote
 
Bob Eager
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:33 PM
On Sat, 31 Dec 2005 19:58:52 UTC, "JIP" <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?


Perfectly genuine. They started doing it a while ago, and I've had
letters for a few of my domains. It's no greate hassle, and you can see
you're on the genuine Nominet site anyway.

You only have to update the basic details, and it does make sure that
you are the right person. More worrying if you don't eventually get one!

It takes about five minutes to do it all, and you get to download a nice
colour copy of your certificate. Don't ignore it (even if some people
do); apart from anything else it's probably a safeguard against slipups
by whoever actually did your registration (usually your ISP).

--
[ 7'ism - a condition by which the sufferer experiences an inability
to give concise answers, express reasoned argument or opinion.
Usually accompanied by silly noises and gestures - incurable, early
euthanasia recommended. ]
 
Reply With Quote
 
Bob Eager
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:33 PM
On Sat, 31 Dec 2005 20:19:42 UTC, Vhit <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

> Its genuine - but you can ignore it .
>
> I dont even open the letters nominet send me most of the time .


We await the lapsing of your domain around June 18th, then!

--
[ 7'ism - a condition by which the sufferer experiences an inability
to give concise answers, express reasoned argument or opinion.
Usually accompanied by silly noises and gestures - incurable, early
euthanasia recommended. ]
 
Reply With Quote
 
PlusNet Support Team
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:35 PM

"JIP" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:43b6e391$0$1477$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
>
> Cheers
>
>


Hi,

It's genuine, I've got a couple knocking around somewhere for my domains. I
don't think you have to confirm the details if you don't want to, I never
have and both my domains are fine.

--
With Regards,

Dave,
--
| Dave Tomlinson Broadband Solutions For
| Customer Support for Home & Business
| PlusNet plc @ http://www.plus.net
+ ----- My Referrals - It pays to recommend PlusNet -----


 
Reply With Quote
 
James
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:38 PM

"JIP" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:43b6e391$0$1477$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
>
> Cheers


Nominet are the internet registry service for the .co.uk names.

It's genuine. (assuming it says http://www.nominet.org.uk/ )


 
Reply With Quote
 
Colin Wilson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:44 PM
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?


Which site are they trying to get you to go to ?

All the registration forms i`ve had from Nominet (got one in the post
today) have a peel-off security sticker with an ID code behind it in
the event you want to do anything with the domain.

--
Please add the word "newsgroup" in the subject line of personal emails
**** My email address includes "ngspamtrap" and "@btinternet.com" ****
 
Reply With Quote
 
Vhit
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-31-2005, 07:45 PM
<uk.telecom.broadband , Bob Eager , (E-Mail Removed)>
<176uZD2KcidF-pn2-(E-Mail Removed)>
<31 Dec 2005 20:33:36 GMT>

> > Its genuine - but you can ignore it .
> >
> > I dont even open the letters nominet send me most of the time .

>
> We await the lapsing of your domain around June 18th, then!
>


If you had looked proper you would have seen it was registered with
pipex/123reg and i've yet to hear of a single instance of them not
emailing you and telling you a domain is due for renewal .

45days / 30days / 15days / 2days is the usual unless you go into the
123reg control panel to tell it otherwise .

Have faith :-)


--
www.vhit.co.uk
www.vhit.co.uk/?poll=1000017
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlusNet / Nominet renewal delays jann Broadband 1 09-01-2003 11:24 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11