Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > OT .. Attn .. "Smile" Account holders - new email scam !

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

OT .. Attn .. "Smile" Account holders - new email scam !

 
 
Andy Jenkins
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2003, 10:06 AM
OT - but some of you guys might have an account with Smile.

Like the Barclays email scam a few weeks back, an email seemingly
coming from Smile has been seen.

Do NOT click on any email from emails that appear to come from Smile,
where they ask for your account details.

Having involvement with the recent Barclays case, I have today spoken
with the NCIS - who are aware of this, and are investigating.

Smile have confirmed they are aware of the emails - and are
re-iterating the above information - do NOT click on any links in
emails, where the email is asking for you to verify your account
details.

Most of the above goes without saying to some of you guys - but its
the ones that are still unsure of internet technology that one needs
to worry about.

Thought I would let you know.
--
Andy Jenkins
UK Broadband Usergroup : http://www.uk-bug.net
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
PhilG
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2003, 11:46 AM
> OT - but some of you guys might have an account with Smile.
>
> Like the Barclays email scam a few weeks back, an email seemingly
> coming from Smile has been seen.
>
> Do NOT click on any email from emails that appear to come from Smile,
> where they ask for your account details.
>
> Having involvement with the recent Barclays case, I have today spoken
> with the NCIS - who are aware of this, and are investigating.
>
> Smile have confirmed they are aware of the emails - and are
> re-iterating the above information - do NOT click on any links in
> emails, where the email is asking for you to verify your account
> details.
>
> Most of the above goes without saying to some of you guys - but its
> the ones that are still unsure of internet technology that one needs
> to worry about.


And Ebay, I have a few saying to click on the link to verify your details
etc. Going to the page it asks you for Social Seciruty Number (useless in
the UK), Credit card number and your ATM PIN no. I have been in contact with
eBay and they say to forward any such emails to:

(E-Mail Removed)

> Thought I would let you know.
> --
> Andy Jenkins
> UK Broadband Usergroup : http://www.uk-bug.net



 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Fwd: SPEWS DOLTS "SneakyP", "Kevin!:?)", "WindsorFox" SPAM braodbandnewsgroup] !:?) Broadband 0 11-30-2005 01:04 AM
Re: SPEWS SLIMES "WindsorFox", "Kevin-!:?)", "Spin Dryer" get the cold shoulder at broadband ng! SneakyP Broadband 0 11-29-2005 10:46 PM
Attention Plus.net Re: SPEWS DOLTS "WindsorFox", "Kevin-!:?)", "SpinDryer" SPAM broadband newsgroup !:?) Broadband 0 11-28-2005 04:28 AM
Attention Plus.Net Re: SPEWS DOLTS "WindsorFox", "Kevin-!:?)", "SpinDryer" SPAM braodband newsgroup !:?) Broadband 0 11-28-2005 03:03 AM
OT-ish: Losing ADSL :-( Can anyone recommend a Dial up "anytime" style account? -halli- Broadband 10 08-07-2004 10:17 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11