Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Linux Networking > Modem overrides "No dial tone"

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Modem overrides "No dial tone"

 
 
Doug Laidlaw
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-26-2004, 07:52 AM
Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received either
no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just goes through a
full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials repeatedly. I would like
to have it back how it was.

On looking at the Hayes codes, it seemed that I should have X4 opposite "No
dial tone detection, but that seems to do nothing. My present config is at
http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can anyone please
advise me? Being on a dial-up connection with a message bank, ofthen the
stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message has been left.

Doug.
--
ICQ Number 178748389. Registered Linux User No. 277548.
Just living is not enough, said the Butterfly. One must have sunshine,
freedom, and a little flower.
- Hans Christian Anderson (1805-1875)

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Moe Trin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-26-2004, 06:55 PM
In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Doug Laidlaw wrote:
>Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received either
>no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just goes through a
>full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials repeatedly. I would like
>to have it back how it was.


_Normally_ you use the AT&F init string to get around this. That _should_
initialize the modem to the factory default settings. Did you perhaps
use the &W command to write a custom configuration to NVRAM, and are now
using ATZ to reset to that configuration?

>On looking at the Hayes codes, it seemed that I should have X4 opposite "No
>dial tone detection, but that seems to do nothing.


There's an 'S' register that's also involved. You've mentioned in the past
which modem that is, but I don't seem to have it handy. On the classic
Hayes, S6 is the number of seconds a modem waits before dialing. This is
also the timeout if X is set to 2 or 4 if there isn't a dialtone. Most of
the modems I've used default this to 2 seconds (valid range 2 - 255). Try
increasing that S register as part of your init string - say AT&F0S6=4
The rational is that by increasing the wait time, the stutter tone will
finish, and the modem will see a steady tone and be happy.

>My present config is at
>http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can anyone please
>advise me?



[compton ~]$ lynx http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png

lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain
Exiting...
sh: xli: command not found
[compton ~]$

Bad Doug! Bad!!! No biscuit!

>Being on a dial-up connection with a message bank, ofthen the
>stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message has been left.


You mean the phone company doesn't come by the house once a week to
throw a brick through the front window with a message taped to it saying
"check your voicemail"? Downright friendly, they are ;-)

Old guy
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Clifford Kite
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-26-2004, 07:17 PM
Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received
> either no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just
> goes through a full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials
> repeatedly. I would like to have it back how it was.


How it was before you did what?

> On looking at the Hayes codes, it seemed that I should have X4 opposite
> "No dial tone detection, but that seems to do nothing. My present
> config is at http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can
> anyone please advise me? Being on a dial-up connection with a message
> bank, ofthen the stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message
> has been left.


Why do you have ATA configured? That directs the modem to answer an
incoming call. The Kppp frontend to pppd is not the way to do that.

What is a "message bank?"

One of us is confused, and I wouldn't bet on which one it is.

--
Clifford Kite Email: "echo (E-Mail Removed)|rot13"
PPP-Q&A links, downloads: http://ckite.no-ip.net/
/* Speak softly and carry a +6 two-handed sword. */
 
Reply With Quote
 
Doug Laidlaw
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-27-2004, 12:37 AM
Clifford Kite wrote:

> Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received
>> either no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just
>> goes through a full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials
>> repeatedly. I would like to have it back how it was.

>
> How it was before you did what?
>

How it was "originally" or, if you like, how Windoze does it. There seems
to be no way of finding out the Windoze config, and the modem's manual has
no samples, only sets out the codes.
>
>> On looking at the Hayes codes, it seemed that I should have X4 opposite
>> "No dial tone detection, but that seems to do nothing. My present
>> config is at http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can
>> anyone please advise me? Being on a dial-up connection with a message
>> bank, ofthen the stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message
>> has been left.

>
> Why do you have ATA configured? That directs the modem to answer an
> incoming call. The Kppp frontend to pppd is not the way to do that.


It must have been installed by Mandrake that way. I am using a Swann
Conexant modem with the Linuxant driver. Should I just delete the ATA?
>
> What is a "message bank?"


It is a voicemail at my provider's exchange. When there is a message
waiting, the normal steady dial tone changes to a "stutter" tone. Since I
use dialup more often than the family uses the phone, I used to be the
first to know, because Kppp would respond "no dial tone". The "S6=4" was
put in at Bill Staehle's suggestion.
>
> One of us is confused, and I wouldn't bet on which one it is.
>

I used to be a lawyer, and lawyers always cover every possibility. Perhaps
it is a reaction, but now I never say enough.

Doug.
--
ICQ Number 178748389. Registered Linux User No. 277548.
The complete truth is not the prerogative of the human judge.
- Judge Meir Shamgar.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Doug Laidlaw
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-27-2004, 12:38 AM
Moe Trin wrote:

> In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Doug Laidlaw wrote:
>>Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received
>>either
>>no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just goes through a
>>full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials repeatedly. I would
>>like to have it back how it was.

>
> _Normally_ you use the AT&F init string to get around this. That _should_
> initialize the modem to the factory default settings. Did you perhaps
> use the &W command to write a custom configuration to NVRAM, and are now
> using ATZ to reset to that configuration?
>
>>On looking at the Hayes codes, it seemed that I should have X4 opposite
>>"No dial tone detection, but that seems to do nothing.

>
> There's an 'S' register that's also involved. You've mentioned in the past
> which modem that is, but I don't seem to have it handy. On the classic
> Hayes, S6 is the number of seconds a modem waits before dialing. This is
> also the timeout if X is set to 2 or 4 if there isn't a dialtone. Most of
> the modems I've used default this to 2 seconds (valid range 2 - 255). Try
> increasing that S register as part of your init string - say AT&F0S6=4
> The rational is that by increasing the wait time, the stutter tone will
> finish, and the modem will see a steady tone and be happy.
>
>>My present config is at
>>http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can anyone please
>>advise me?

>
>
> [compton ~]$ lynx http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png
>
> lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain
> Exiting...
> sh: xli: command not found
> [compton ~]$
>
> Bad Doug! Bad!!! No biscuit!
>

What does an image file normally show in Lynx?
>
>>Being on a dial-up connection with a message bank, ofthen the
>>stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message has been left.

>
> You mean the phone company doesn't come by the house once a week to
> throw a brick through the front window with a message taped to it saying
> "check your voicemail"? Downright friendly, they are ;-)
>
> Old guy


--
ICQ Number 178748389. Registered Linux User No. 277548.
Imagine all the people living for today.
- John Lennon.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Moe Trin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-27-2004, 12:56 AM
In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Clifford Kite wrote:

Hi Clifford!

>Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> anyone please advise me? Being on a dial-up connection with a message
>> bank, ofthen the stutter tone is our only way of knowing that a message
>> has been left.


>What is a "message bank?"
>

Ozzie name for voicemail.

>One of us is confused, and I wouldn't bet on which one it is.


Welcome to the club!

Old guy
 
Reply With Quote
 
Clifford Kite
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-27-2004, 12:51 PM
Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Moe Trin wrote:


>>>My present config is at
>>>http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png Can anyone please
>>>advise me?

>>
>> [compton ~]$ lynx http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png
>>
>> lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain
>> Exiting...
>> sh: xli: command not found
>> [compton ~]$
>>
>> Bad Doug! Bad!!! No biscuit!
>>

> What does an image file normally show in Lynx?


I think he meant that lynx, a text browser, can't display graphics files
(he may not have recognized the .png as being one). It's not common to
provide a link to a graphics file for information regarding a problem,
although after seeing the file it's easy to understand why you did it.

Interesting file too. I've never see a file that looked unreadable
when first brought up by a browser but can simply be clicked on and
made readable.

--
Clifford Kite Email: "echo (E-Mail Removed)|rot13"
PPP-Q&A links, downloads: http://ckite.no-ip.net/
/* I gave up on politics when no matter who I voted for, I regretted it.
* -- Pepper...and Salt, WSJ */
 
Reply With Quote
 
Clifford Kite
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-27-2004, 01:10 PM
Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Clifford Kite wrote:


>> Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>> Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received
>>> either no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just
>>> goes through a full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials
>>> repeatedly. I would like to have it back how it was.

>>
>> How it was before you did what?
>>

> How it was "originally" or, if you like, how Windoze does it. There seems
> to be no way of finding out the Windoze config, and the modem's manual has
> no samples, only sets out the codes.


Ah, Microsoft. It seemed reasonable to assume it once worked satifactory
under Linux.

Then the question I have is, what happened under MS when the modem "would
give "No dial tone?" Did MS simply hangup the modem and quit, or what?

>> Why do you have ATA configured? That directs the modem to answer an
>> incoming call. The Kppp frontend to pppd is not the way to do that.


> It must have been installed by Mandrake that way. I am using a Swann
> Conexant modem with the Linuxant driver. Should I just delete the ATA?


Err.. Yes, unless you want the phone to answer incoming calls, assuming
kppp can even do that. But I have to guess at what the entries in the
configuration screen mean, so no guarantee as to what should or should
not be in the "Answer string:" slot.

< begin partial rant> Some people like KDE and friends and some don't;
I below to the latter group. And I wouldn't ever use a "modem" that
requires a software driver. <end partial rant>

>> What is a "message bank?"


> It is a voicemail at my provider's exchange. When there is a message
> waiting, the normal steady dial tone changes to a "stutter" tone. Since I
> use dialup more often than the family uses the phone, I used to be the
> first to know, because Kppp would respond "no dial tone". The "S6=4" was
> put in at Bill Staehle's suggestion.


Bill is a good man. "S6=4" used to mean "set the waiting time for blind
dialing to 4 seconds," but whether it's still so for every modem these days
is questionable. I don't know what he had in mind here in suggesting it
but don't doubt that he had a valid reason.

> I used to be a lawyer, and lawyers always cover every possibility. Perhaps
> it is a reaction, but now I never say enough.


Weel, the "used to be" means you've achieved some measure of redemption
anyway. VBG

-- Clifford Kite Email: "echo (E-Mail Removed)|rot13"
PPP-Q&A links, downloads: http://ckite.no-ip.net/
/* "PPPoE has many advantages for DSL service providers, and
practically none for DSL consumers."
- David F. Skoll */
 
Reply With Quote
 
Moe Trin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-28-2004, 12:00 AM
In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Doug Laidlaw wrote:
>Moe Trin wrote:


>> [compton ~]$ lynx http://members.iinet.net.au/~tomlai1/edit_modem.png
>>
>> lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain
>> Exiting...
>> sh: xli: command not found
>> [compton ~]$


>What does an image file normally show in Lynx?


Above - it doesn't. Lynx is text only. I was hoping to just download
it, but lynx barfed exactly as shown. For what it's worth, I'm
pretty sure that the other browser "links" will tolerate some non-text.

[compton ~]$ whatis links
links (1) - lynx-like alternative character mode WWW browser
[compton ~]$

Old guy
 
Reply With Quote
 
Moe Trin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-28-2004, 12:14 AM
In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Clifford Kite wrote:
>Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> Clifford Kite wrote:

>
>>> Doug Laidlaw <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>>> Originally, my dialup modem would give "No dial tone" if it received
>>>> either no dial tone at all, or a "Stutter" dial tone. Now it just
>>>> goes through a full cycle, and either reports a timeout or dials
>>>> repeatedly. I would like to have it back how it was.
>>>
>>> How it was before you did what?
>>>

>> How it was "originally" or, if you like, how Windoze does it. There seems
>> to be no way of finding out the Windoze config, and the modem's manual has
>> no samples, only sets out the codes.

>
>Ah, Microsoft. It seemed reasonable to assume it once worked satifactory
>under Linux.


I was going to reply directly to Doug, but might as well combine the
answers. Re- seeing what MS does:

Not directly - and remember I quit using windoze in 1992, but there were
methods in later versions of windoze to make a "modem" log. In my copious
free time, I ought to spend a bit more time scanning comp.dcom.modems,
which is where I learned about this for win9x:

----------------
>>Go to Control Panel/Modems/Properties/Connection/Advanced. Check Record
>>a log file.


>system called Modemlog.txt. Can't find it. Any suggestions?


That's the file name in Windows 95. Windows 98 uses the modem's name
as the file name. For example, mine is:

C:\WINDOWS\U.S. Robotics 56K FAX Win INT.log
-----------------

Now, I'm positive that, in keeping with the microsoft philosophy of
changing things (as noted above) lest the user become complacent, it's
been moved to a completely different menu location.

That log equates to an overly techno-babbled version of the -v output
from chat. That will show you the string that is being sent to the modem,
although it's usually overkill. There is another trick to get the windoze
version of pppd to output a similarly bloated log that has most of the data
that the ANU version of pppd outputs with the -debug option.

>> The "S6=4" was put in at Bill Staehle's suggestion.


Did it work?

>Bill is a good man. "S6=4" used to mean "set the waiting time for blind
>dialing to 4 seconds," but whether it's still so for every modem these days
>is questionable. I don't know what he had in mind here in suggesting it
>but don't doubt that he had a valid reason.


It also controls how long the modem waits for the dialtone under normal
mode. The idea is to lengthen the time so that the stuttering is done,
and the phone company is sending a continuous dialtone. It's a fix
quite commonly used/recommended in comp.dcom.modems. Being a low S
register, it seems to be common across modem manufacturers, much like
everyone using ATDT for touchtone dialing.

>> I used to be a lawyer, and lawyers always cover every possibility. Perhaps
>> it is a reaction, but now I never say enough.

>
>Weel, the "used to be" means you've achieved some measure of redemption
>anyway. VBG


Yeah, I'll go along with that!

In case you guys haven't figured, I'm no longer at netvalue.

Old guy
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Creative Modem Blaster V.92 USB (DE5671 Model) dial-up modem supported in Linux? Ant Linux Networking 11 09-20-2012 09:07 PM
Dial-up / Dial-In Linux Server to Windows Network for Mobile Users MikeE Linux Networking 3 05-31-2007 12:45 AM
Getting AOL dial-up to dial a 9 prefix Martin Underwood Home Networking 3 07-10-2006 09:37 AM
IE options - "never dial a connection" doesnt stick - returns to "Dial whenever a network connection is not present" techman41973@yahoo.com Wireless Internet 2 03-08-2006 09:08 PM
DCHP overrides default gateway and nameserver on double-nic server. Morten ab Lange Linux Networking 2 10-16-2003 06:12 PM