"David Bradley" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> A friend of mind is in the process of getting a Broadband service from
> PlusNet and has received an
> email which contains this piece of good news:
>
> To confirm, your PlusNet account details are as follows:
>
> * Your e-mail address is
> (E-Mail Removed), where postmaster can
> be
> replaced by any word you like or any existing mailboxes on your account.
>
> * Your Web address (URL) is
> http://www.44d309654fd07b8e5332db1e6387e7.plus.com
>
> [I have changed a few of the numbers and letters for obvious reasons].
>
> They can't be serious about this, can they? Although I don't see this as
> a typo error!
>
> David Bradley
Hi David,
These details won't be the email address and web site address for your
friend. I'm presuming that your friend is upgrading from one of our dial-up
accounts to get broadband. The way our system works is to create a temporary
account with a random username like the one above to do the provisioning of
broadband in order that it doesn't interfere with the dial-up account. It
looks like something might have gone slightly wrong because it's sent out
the wrong details, if you want to let me have your friend's username I can
checl to make sure everything's OK, but I would suspect that it is just the
email that's been sent out incorrectly.
--
With Regards,
Dave,
--
| Dave Tomlinson Broadband Solutions For
| Customer Support for Home & Business
| PlusNet plc @
http://www.plus.net
+ ----- My Referrals - It pays to recommend PlusNet -----