Networking Forums

Networking Forums > Computer Networking > Broadband > Domain name with one large number (not IP address)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Domain name with one large number (not IP address)

 
 
Seb
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 09:00 AM
Hi,

I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.

However, the interesting thing is that the link was going to:

http://999412483/icons/small/paypal/...reInfo/paypal/

It didn't know it was possible to have a domain name without extension
(.com etc) or it is just some IP address, but presented in a different
format?

Thanks,
Sebastien

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Nicholas Thomas
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 09:21 AM
Seb blathered :-
> Hi,
>
> I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
> collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.
>
> However, the interesting thing is that the link was going to:
>
> http://999412483/icons/small/paypal/...reInfo/paypal/
>
> It didn't know it was possible to have a domain name without extension
> (.com etc) or it is just some IP address, but presented in a different
> format?
>
> Thanks,
> Sebastien
>

IIRC, it's the IP address as one large 32-bit number (rather than 4
8-bit numbers). Could be wrong, though.

http://www.dnsstuff.com/ has a form that can convert between the two
formats.

xF,

....Nick
 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave Fawthrop
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 09:27 AM
On 28 Aug 2006 02:00:17 -0700, "Seb" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

|Hi,
|
|I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
|collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.
|
|However, the interesting thing is that the link was going to:
|
|http://999412483/icons/small/paypal/...reInfo/paypal/
|
|It didn't know it was possible to have a domain name without extension
|(.com etc) or it is just some IP address, but presented in a different
|format?

Despite the new V4 Junk system I still have a filter which *deletes*
anything apparently from any bank or financial institution.
--
Dave Fawthrop <dave hyphenologist co uk> Google Groups is IME the *worst*
method of accessing usenet. GG subscribers would be well advised get a
newsreader, say Agent, and a newsserver, say news.individual.net. These
will allow them: to see only *new* posts, a killfile, and other goodies.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Colin Wilson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 12:13 PM
> I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
> collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.


I found buying a domain and "personalising" the email address you give
to any third party i.e. amazon@ paypal@ also helps narrow things down -
you know if you get an email to (E-Mail Removed) its
automatically a scam.
 
Reply With Quote
 
dennis@home
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 02:50 PM

"Nicholas Thomas" <ku.gro.snagap-(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
message news:44f2b5aa$0$634$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Seb blathered :-
>> Hi,
>>
>> I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
>> collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.
>>
>> However, the interesting thing is that the link was going to:
>>
>> http://999412483/icons/small/paypal/...reInfo/paypal/
>>
>> It didn't know it was possible to have a domain name without extension
>> (.com etc) or it is just some IP address, but presented in a different
>> format?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Sebastien
>>

> IIRC, it's the IP address as one large 32-bit number (rather than 4
> 8-bit numbers). Could be wrong, though.


Its the IP address in decimal.
Except that address (59.145.211.3) is reserved so it shouldn't be usable.


 
Reply With Quote
 
David Bolt
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2006, 07:10 PM
On Mon, 28 Aug 2006, "dennis@home" <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:-

<snip>

>Its the IP address in decimal.
>Except that address (59.145.211.3) is reserved so it shouldn't be usable.


You need to update your list of unassigned space. The entire of
59.0.0.0/8 is allocated to APNIC and, checking their whois database
shows it's allocated to:

Request: 59.145.211.3
connected to whois.arin.net [199.43.0.144:43] ...
connected to whois.apnic.net [202.12.29.13:43] ...
% [whois.apnic.net node-2]
% Whois data copyright terms http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html

inetnum: 59.145.211.0 - 59.145.211.15
netname: DCMTechnologies1554-ggn
descr: DCM Technologies
descr: 125,
descr: Udyog Vihar Phase-I
descr: Gurgoan
descr: Haryana
descr: India
descr: Contact Person:VK Bhatia
descr: Email:(E-Mail Removed)
descr: Phone:911245122820
country: IN
admin-c: NA40-AP
tech-c: NA40-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-IN-BBIL
status: ASSIGNED NON-PORTABLE
changed: (E-Mail Removed) 20041222
source: APNIC


Regards,
David Bolt

--
Member of Team Acorn checking nodes at 50 Mnodes/s: http://www.distributed.net/
AMD1800 1Gb WinXP/SUSE 9.3 | AMD2400 256Mb SuSE 9.0 | A3010 4Mb RISCOS 3.11
AMD2400(32) 768Mb SUSE 10.0 | Falcon 14Mb TOS 4.02 | A4000 4Mb RISCOS 3.11
AMD2600(64) 512Mb SUSE 10.0 | | RPC600 129Mb RISCOS 3.6
 
Reply With Quote
 
Sparks
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-29-2006, 08:02 PM
"Colin Wilson" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) t...
>> I have just received an email message which was a phishing attempt to
>> collect PayPal information, and I have notified PayPal.

>
> I found buying a domain and "personalising" the email address you give
> to any third party i.e. amazon@ paypal@ also helps narrow things down -
> you know if you get an email to (E-Mail Removed) its
> automatically a scam.


I did this to start with, but then got hit with someone sending mail to a
load of random stuff@mydomain I changed it so as long as a particular word
was in the mail address before the @, the mail would get though to me, for
example...

Say the word was sparks

sparks@... would work

sparks-amazon@... would work
amazon-sparks@... world work
amazon@... would be rejected

This seems to work really well!


 
Reply With Quote
 
Colin Wilson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-29-2006, 08:52 PM
> I did this to start with, but then got hit with someone sending mail to a
> load of random stuff@mydomain I changed it so as long as a particular word
> was in the mail address before the @, the mail would get though to me, for
> example...


I haven't had any problems as yet (been doing it for at least 2 years
now) - although I do have a lot of heavy duty filtering on Mailwasher
for regular mail.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domain controller broadcasting large chunks of data Phil McNeill Windows Networking 1 04-17-2007 08:16 PM
What is the 5th number in ip address Jeff Wireless Networks 6 03-16-2006 10:38 PM
How can transfer large number of files across the internet? Adrian Windows Networking 5 02-13-2006 04:38 PM
can ping with number address but not with name address Terry Liittschwager Linux Networking 5 01-11-2006 09:40 AM
Handling a large number of IPs efficiently Bill Davidsen Linux Networking 3 12-28-2003 06:19 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11